Yacay en las tierras del buen viento

De Luz Maria del Valle
Illustrated by Francesca Mencarini

The volocordos are flying beings with light blue skin and colorful wings, that live in the branches of the most immense trees that can be imagined. For them, the only known danger is the people of the Maullians, furry and fearsome cat-men.  

Also available in ebook and audiobook:


Recommended for 8 to 12 years
Binding: Softcover
Size: 20 x 15 cm
Pages: 158
Vintage: 2008
ISBN: 978-956-8209-39-1


The young Yacay carries the great hopes of his people, the volocordos, beautiful winged beings, who trust that Yacay will become the great warrior who will eliminate his enemies forever; however, they are disappointed to find that he cannot even fly. Yacay is later kidnapped by the Maullianos, natural rivals of the Volocordos. Thus, he will spend years with those he believed to be his enemies, until he almost became one of them, in an adventure where he will learn to overcome his fears and work as a team, and he will know the value of friendship and union. This book is the first in the Yacay saga, but it can be read independently. The story engages its readers with a simple and dynamic narrative, as well as illustrations that accompany key moments in the story.

Lo Barnechea Reading Center, 2017.


Luz Maria Del Valle is a journalist and writer. He was born in 1978 in Santiago de Chile. He lived for 11 years in Spain, where he received his first literary award, and back in Chile he studied Journalism and then Children's Literature and Reading Development with Cecilia Beuchat. In 2008 he published his first novel, Yacay en las tierra del buen viento. In 2012 he received an Honorable Mention in the First Chilean Children's Poetry Contest. Currently, in addition to writing, she runs workshops for children and educators.

Francesca Mencarini She works as a freelance cartoonist and illustrator, collaborating with various publishing houses, magazines, and design and advertising agencies. For Amanuta he has illustrated Antonio y el tesoro de Juan Fernández (2007); Antonio and the mystery of the rock men (2008); Yacay in the lands of the good wind (2008) and Yacay towards the Kaibas Plains (2010).